VoiceInput vs Wispr Flow
Short answer: Both put dictated text into any text field. If you want the same app on Windows or a phone, pick Wispr Flow. If you only use a Mac and want engines that work offline, Chinese-English typography and a searchable history kept on your Mac, pick VoiceInput.
The short version
Wispr Flow is an AI dictation app for Mac, Windows, iOS and Android. VoiceInput is a macOS menu bar app: hold Right Option, speak, release, and the text lands at the cursor. Below we compare only what we could verify, checked 2026-10-14.
Side by side
| Dimension | VoiceInput | Wispr Flow |
|---|---|---|
| Platforms | macOS 14 or later, Apple silicon and Intel. The iPhone version is a separate keyboard app with different features; this page compares the Mac version only | Pricing page lists Mac, Windows, iOS and Android for dictation |
| Price | Free plan; Pro $9/month, $79/year, or $49 lifetime (limited to 100) | Pro $15/month billed monthly, or $12/month billed yearly |
| Free plan limits | Local engines unlimited; cloud recognition 60 minutes a month; cloud AI Tidy 50 uses a day; AI Tidy with your own API key not metered | 2,000 words a week on desktop, 1,000 a week on mobile |
| Offline | Yes. Local SenseVoice (about 239 MB, one-time download) or Apple Speech Recognition | Not stated on the pricing page; unverified |
| Languages | Built for Chinese and mixed Chinese-English; spaces between Chinese and English and brand-name casing handled on the Mac | Pricing page says 100+ languages; Chinese accuracy unverified |
| How you start talking | Hold Right Option, release to insert; Left Option is the AI Tidy key; keys are configurable | Unverified (not described on the pricing page) |
| What you said, afterwards | Every result is kept on your Mac, searchable, exportable | Unverified |
"Unverified" and "Not stated" mean we did not see a clear statement on the vendor's page, not that the feature does not exist. Prices and features change; check the vendor's site before you buy.
Who Wispr Flow suits
- You need other platforms. Windows, iOS and Android are listed on its pricing page; VoiceInput has none of them.
- You write in many languages. The pricing page lists 100+ languages.
- You want a published free allowance to try. The weekly word limits are stated up front.
Who VoiceInput suits
- Mac only, hold-to-talk anywhere. Hold Right Option wherever there is a cursor.
- Audio that stays on the Mac. Pick a local engine and it works with the network off.
- Mixed Chinese-English writing. Local typography adds spaces between Chinese and English and fixes brand-name casing.
- Finding what you said later. Every result is stored on your Mac and searchable.
FAQ
Is VoiceInput an alternative to Wispr Flow?
For Mac dictation, yes. Both put dictated text into any text field. Wispr Flow also runs on Windows, iOS and Android and lists 100+ languages; VoiceInput is Mac-only, has engines that work offline, adds Chinese-English typography on the Mac, and keeps every result on your Mac.
How do the free plans differ?
They are limited in different ways. Wispr Flow lists 2,000 words a week on desktop and 1,000 on mobile. VoiceInput local engines are unlimited, cloud recognition gives 60 minutes a month, and AI Tidy with your own API key is not metered.
How much does each cost?
Wispr Flow Pro is $15 a month billed monthly or $12 a month billed yearly. VoiceInput Pro is $9 a month, $79 a year, or $49 lifetime (limited to 100); the free plan covers local engines without a time limit.
Sources and check dates
- Wispr Flow platforms, pricing and languages: wisprflow.ai/pricing, checked 2026-10-14.
- VoiceInput pricing: VoiceInput pricing page; features match v0.91.0, checked 2026-10-14.
Related: Best voice typing apps for Mac, VoiceInput vs Superwhisper, all guides and comparisons.
Try VoiceInput free
Free forever (100% local). No account, no API key, no setup. macOS 14+.
Download v0.92.0 · 25.6 MB